Filter By

BMT Nigel Gee Wins ISS Regatta

Last run in 2009, the once popular Brokers Regatta has in recent years fallen by the wayside. This year the International Superyacht Society (ISS) took on the mantra of running a “rebooted” version organised by ISS president Ken Hickling with support from Burgess, Akzonobel and Trimline.

Based in Cowes on the Isle of Wight with a fleet of 10 Sunsail Beneteau F40 yachts the event was run over two days with racing in the eastern Solent. With 10 teams entered over 90 industry professionals enjoyed racing in some brisk conditions where winds approached 30 knots on both days. Evening entertainment was organised by Trimline at The Folly Inn on the upper reaches of the Medina river.

Over the course of 6 races the BMT Nigel Gee team established a clear lead and went on to win the series with a 4 point lead over second placed Awlgrip with Laurent Giles finishing just one point behind in third.

It is hoped that by becoming an ISS event the regatta will appeal to an international community and become a permanent fixture. BMT Nigel Gee look forward to defending their result in 2013!

BMT Nigel Gee Sunsail F4012

BMT Nigel Gee Team ISS Regatta 2012

James Roy and Ken Hickling

Back to News

Post to: